top of page

My Top 10 Southeast Asian Experiences


Southeast Asia is one of the most diverse regions on the planet, and would take years to explore properly. Over the three months I spent in the regions, I had the most amazing time exploring seven vibrant countries. Of course, I didn't get to see everything, but here is my Top 10 list of my most amazing experiences in Southeast Asia. So many people come out with so many different iterations of this list, but everyone really has their own unique experience.

#10: Elephant Jungle Sanctuary, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Visiting an elephant sanctuary is among one of the most incredible experiences you can have in Southeast Asia. Of course, of you do want to spend some time with elephants, it's important to do so in an ethical way. Elephants are overly strained when being ridden or saddled up, and shouldn't be trained to perform shows for tourists. Visiting a sanctuary is a way to visit these elephants in a protected environment and spend some proper face-to-face time with them.

The elephant sanctuary I visited was called "Elephant Jungle Sanctuary," and it is proven to treat the elephants properly. We started the day feeding the elephants bananas, and we then even made some elephant medicine by mashing up rice and bananas in a ball along with some medicinal ingredients. We had the chance to bathe the elephants in a mud bath, and then we washed it all right off in the nearby waterfall. The highlight of the day, by far, was just spending time with the magnificent creatures, feeding them, petting them and just enjoying their company.

Unforgettable, and certainly a must.

#9: The Temples of Angkor Way, Siem Reap, Cambodia

The Temples of Angkor Wat. This is potentially the most important religious site on the entire planet. The sheer size and incredible imposing nature of these temples is something to behold. Many would consider this the number one experience in Southeast Asia, and while it wasn't my #1, it is definitely something that you must absolutely visit at least once in your lifetime.

So why isn't it my #1? First off, entrance to the temples for three days costs US$62... it's expensive. The temples are located 7km away from the town of Siem Reap, meaning you need to hire a pushy tuk-tuk driver for the day (costing around US$5 per day if you share with other travellers), and you need to spend the entire day among the masses in gruelling heat. At the end of the day, you are absolutely drained of all your energy.

This said, the temples are incredible. There's always a new hidden gem to discover behind every corner, and the architecture of all of these temples is something you won't find anywhere else in the world.

The main temple, Angkor Wat, is enormous, and definitely worth visiting for sunrise. The remaining temples can be seen as part of a tour at your hostel as well, and are all different and worth checking out. My personal favourite temple was the one that was built around a tree!

#8: Hanoi, Vietnam

Hanoi is chaotic. From the second you step off the bus, you need to mind the oncoming motorbikes that are whizzing at you at full speed. You even need to cross the street and disregard the motorbikes swerving to aviod you. Hanoi was the first city I visited in Southeast Asia, as I headed there in October 2017 during a Korean national holiday, and I wrote about my experience in this crazy city HERE.

Hanoi is an assault on the senses. People are outside cooking in the street, motorbikes and pedestrians are at a standstill as they try to navigate the old town's colonial streets, and the nightlife never stops. Hanoi is where pho comes from, and where you can find the most delicious rendition of the popular soup in the entire world. Hanoi is also where egg coffee comes from, a Vietnamese version of coffee that mixes in some egg yolk (it's to die for). Sure, it's not as built up as Singapore or clean as Tokyo, but trust me, when you're in Hanoi, you're happy.

#7: Exploring the wildlife in and around Kuching, Borneo, Malaysia

Ahh Borneo. The world's third largest island is located smack on the equator, and boasts kilometres and kilometres of rainforest, which means unique wildlife that can't be found anywhere else in the world.

While in Kuching, a town on the west of Malaysian Borneo, I had the opportunity to explore Bako National Park, which is tiny but stunning, and I visited the Semenggoh Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre. I had the chance to see orangutans, proboscic monkeys (the monkeys with the funny nose) and even some bearded pigs, among others. While exploring the rainforest, I almost felt as though I was intruding on these animals' natural habitat. It was incredible to just be in nature.

#6: Singapore

While Hanoi provides you with an all-out sensory and cultural experience, Singapore is a whole other world. Singapore is clean, built-up, very westernized and definitely more expensive than the remainder of Southeast Asia.

Yet, Singapore is one of the most incredible cities I've ever been to. The sheer beauty of the architecture of Marina Bay and the Gardens by the Bay is something to behold, and the vibe and colours in Singapore's various cultural neighbourhoods is fun to experience and wander around.

Singapore also boasts some of the most unique cuisines in the region, as you can get Chinese, Indian, Malay or pretty much anything else you may want, though what really distinguishes Singapore's food culture is its hawker stalls. Similar to Penang, Malaysia, there are hawker stalls (basically food courts) throughout the city. These food courts feature dozens of food stalls, where you can sit down with friends and order some truly authentic food, including on my favourite deserts, the ice kachang. A big thanks to my Singaporean friend Seah for taking me out to these hawker stalls and allowing me to experience the true Singaporean culture.

Oh, and Singapore is home to some incredible Michelin-Star restaurants, like this Chinese restaurant called Putien where I went with friends from my hostel on my last night there.

For me, however, the highlight of Singapore was not the architecture nor the food, but the Singapore Grand Prix. It had always been my dream to attend an F1 Grand Prix in another country, and I couldn't pass up on the opportunity to go. Truly an amazing five days.

#5: Hoi An, Vietnam

Hoi An is the type of city every traveller dreams about visiting. It has everything: delicious food, unique colonial architecture and vibrant markets. But that's not all! Just a short bike ride away from town, you can visit the beach, some rice paddies and coconut plantations. Jump on the bus, within an hour you can go hiking, visit the Bana Hills (famous for the bridge with hands holding it up) and the bustling city of Da Nang.

Hoi An is famous for its tailor-made clothing, as it's quite cheap and easy to pick-up good quality suits and other clothing. In fact, I even picked up a leather belt and wallet for $23 on my last day there. It is also the birthplace of the delicious banh mi sandwich.

Yet Hoi An's enchantment comes from the feel of the city itself. There is simply nothing more magical than sitting by the river at night and taking in the spectacular colours of the lanterns and the hundreds of boats and tiny candles floating on the water. Go into one of the nearby bars that's playing live music, grab a cheap beer, and enjoy the vibe. Trust me you will be happy.

Hoi An is so special that I visited it twice. Read about my first visit to Hoi An HERE.

#4: Vang Vieng, Laos

If you want a proper taste of Laotian culture, Luang Prabang is the place to be. Vang Vieng is certainly not Laos' cultural hub, yet it provided me with some of the most exhilarating experiences of my entire trip.

While Vang Vieng's claim to fame is certainly the tubing (which I will write more about in a future post), the area around the town boasts perhaps some of the most stunning mountainous terrain you will ever see, and is a terrific place to just experience nature. You can go tubing down the nearby river and be surrounded by stunning mountains, all the while stopping at bars and having some drinks with your new hostel friends. You can rent a motorbike or hire a tuk-tuk for a day and go visit one of the many waterholes, or you can go hiking one of the many mountains and take in some of the most stunning views you can find (my personal favourite).

Vang Vieng is full of backpackers, and is more social than cultural in many regards, yet it's a lot of fun and an amazing place to experience nature. 100% worth the visit!

#3: Bagan, Myanmar

Myanmar is a country that only opened its borders to tourists in 2012, yet it's seen a massive influx of tourism since then, and a lot of this popularity is probably due to the sheer beauty of Bagan.

Bagan is a historic UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is the former capital of the ancient Pagan Kingdom, and was once home to over 10,000 temples, although over 2,200 still stand today.

One of the best experiences I had all trip was renting an e-bike in Bagan's Old Town (for about $3) and going around the many temples with some friends from my hostel. There's always something new to see and discover around every corner. The experience is even more magical when you climb atop some temples for the sunrise and the sunset; seeing the colour contrasts of the sky over the thousands of steeples is something I simply will never forget.

I must say, my experience was greatly enhanced by the hostel I stayed at. I stayed at a hostel called "Ostello Bello" and made some great friends there. There was a great vibe at the hostel itself and even the food in Bagan was absolutely delicious. The hostel offered free tours of Bagan, and learning about this incredible historic site from a tour guide made the experience even better!

#2: Krabi Province, Thailand

Krabi Province. Home to Ao Nang and Railay Beach (pictured above), Dragon Crest Mountain and, my personal favourite, the famous Phi Phi Islands.

In three months in Southeast Asia, not once did I have more fun than I did on the Phi Phi Islands. There were beach parties every night, and the beaches and landscape are like none other. Even though Maya Bay was a little underwhelming, the adjacent Pileh Lagoon is beyond stunning. The views of the island from the viewpoint are incredible, and the mere vibe of the island and the people you meet there propel this place over the top.

The area around Krabi town is equally as impressive. The region is famous for its large karst limestone rocks jutting out from the water, and there's no better place to experience them than Ao Pra Nang Beach. This said, my most unforgettable moment from Krabi was climbing atop Dragon Crest Mountain. I saw the mountains, the limestone rocks and the beach, all in one fleeting moment. If you want to go to the south of Thailand, skip Phuket and just enjoy Krabi instead.

Honourable Mentions

Of course, this is my top ten list, however I visited so many other incredible places that unfortunately couldn't even make it on to this list. These places include, but are not limited to:

16. Mekong Delta, Vietnam

15. Bangkok, Thailand

14. Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

13. Luang Prabang, Laos

12. Inle Lake, Myanmar

11. Pai, Thailand

#1: Halong Bay, Vietnam

Halong Bay is incredible. Thousands of limestone rocks jut out of the bay, creating an incredible natural phenomenon. Despite how touristy it is, no trip to Vietnam or Southeast Asia is complete without a visit here.

Fortunately, when I visited, it wasn't overly touristy and the tour I signed up for with my hostel brought us to a private island to spend the night, where we marvelled at the sky as the sun was setting. We went swimming and kayaking, and took a boat ride around the entire bay, and I remember repeatedly being unable to believe where I even was.

I visited Halong Bay in October 2017 on my first trip to Vietnam, and even now, a year and a half later, it's still what I'm raving about. It was unforgettable, and I would happily go back and experience it all again. Read about my full experience HERE.

As you can clearly see, Vietnam holds a special place in my heart, as it is, in my opinion, home to the most delicious food and most incredible landscapes, although each Southeast Asian country is special in its own way. An unforgettable trip and one that just makes you want to go back again.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page