top of page

Happy New Years 2018 from Taipei 101!!


If you would have told me a year ago that I'd be kicking off 2018 by watching one of the most famous fireworks shows in the world in Taiwan's capital, well, I'd have my reasons to doubt that scenario.

The reality is, however, that I didn't even know Taipei was a popular destination for New Years travel. I had heard of the Taipei 101 Tower, but wasn't really aware of its international fame with regards to New Years. It was, in fact, a coincidence that I had the opportunity to bear witness to such an incredible display! I was simply headed to Taipei for New Years because I had been granted the luxury of four days off (something quite rare where I work), and would have felt remiss had I not taken full advantage of the opportunity.

Everyone I met throughout the city seemed to be on the same page when it came to New Year's Eve, as was I, but I wasn't really sure how I was going to end up celebrating it. I was lucky enough to meet a girl at my hostel who said she was an avid member of the CouchSurfing community. CouchSurfing is essentially an online platform, similar to Airbnb, on which travellers can connect with hosts (people living in a certain city) and request an opportunity to stay at their host's house, and all of this for free. Couchsurfers also tend to organize meetups at bars in the city they're visiting as to meet other travellers and locals. I accompanied my new Romanian friend to her CouchSurfing meetup on New Year's Eve, and got the opportunity to meet some really cool people!

After a couple of drinks at a bar, we all headed out to a spot about a kilometre away from the tower to take in what was probably the most incredible New Years of my life!

Now this isn't my video, as mine came out kind of grainy, but this was pretty much the view and the experience I had! It was absolutely incredible, and an experience I definitely believe is worth all the hype!

As the clock struck midnight, the fireworks dazzled, and the music started playing, I took a moment to reflect upon everything that led up to that moment. Here I was, off living in Korea, literally on the other side of the world, visiting Taiwan, and taking in an incredible scene. Not everyone gets to experience an opportunity like this one, and I truly am thankful to be where I am today.

On New Year's Eve and New Year's Day, I took some time to explore the area surrounding Taipei 101, as well as getting up close with the tower itself.

Taipei 101, otherwise known as the Taipei Financial Center, was actually the tallest building in the world for quite some time. It was completed on December 31st, 2004, and overtook Kuala Lumpur's Petronas Towers to claim the famous title. It was surpassed in 2010 by Dubai's Burj Khalifa (the tallest building still today), and was soon surpassed by many other buildings across the world (including Seoul's Lotte Tower), and now sits in eighth spot. Regardless of ranking, the building is impressive, and imposing. At just over half a kilometre (509.2m) tall, it is intimidating in nature, and it's unique, layered architectural style gives the impression of a modern-day traditional pagoda. The building counts 101 floors (fittingly), and features an incredible observation deck with amazing views on the 91st floor, though I unfortunately did not have time to visit it.

What I did have the chance to do, however, was hike to the top of Elephant Mountain, twice!

Elephant Mountain sits about a kilometre East of Taipei 101, and is worth the not-so-difficult hike. Many trails lead to the top of the mountain, where Taipei's breathtaking skyline can be admired. Of course, on my way up the mountain, I stumbled across a historic temple which displays some incredible architecture and an interesting cultural experience.

I actually climbed Elephant Mountain twice. I climbed on New Year's Eve, but the view from the top was way too foggy and you really couldn't see anything. I returned early the next morning to catch the uninhibited view, and it was definitely worth the return trip!

Unsurprisingly, the Taipei 101 Tower dominated the skyline, and witnessing this view under clear skies was the perfect way to conclude a memorable trip to Taipei. Spending New Years in Taiwan was incredible, and the experience is certainly something I will never forget.

-Daniele

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page