top of page

Two Years Later: a Reflection


Saturday August 22nd, 2015, 8:00 AM: Air Transat flight lands in Lison Portela Airport from Montreal.

Monday August 22nd, 2016, 1:00 PM: Air Transat flight departs for Montreal from Brussels Zavantem Airport

Tuesday August 22nd, 2017: Teaching some bright young Korean minds about dinosaurs, milk and Outer Space.

Two years ago, on this very day, I took my first step on European soil in what was my first true travelling experience.

Exactly one year, to the day, after that, I departed Europe, after having had the experience of a lifetime. I went back to my hometown, where many new and fulfilling experiences awaited me.

And here I am today, living and teaching English in Seoul, exactly two years from when my journey started, exactly one year after restarting my life in Montreal.

It is a date that will forever be ingrained in my memory as the day my life changed forever, as the day that began my personal transformation and evolution as a person. And as this date is now upon is, I am taking the time to reflect on how things have gone and the amazing experiences that are behind me and that remain ahead of me.

Before my first journey abroad, I had never really travelled. Sure, I'd been to Toronto, Ottawa and Quebec City. Sure, I'd taken those family trips along the East Coast of the United States, hitting up popular cities like New York, Boston and Washington, with trips to Wildwood, Myrtle Beach and Disney World sprinkled among them. Sure, I'd been to Cancun, Mexico several times to visit my aunt and cousins who live there. But had I really travelled? No, simply put, I had not.

But travel is something I knew I'd always wanted to do. I remember sitting up in my room and imagining going to visit my cousins in Italy, and actually being greeted at a restaurant or a shop in Italian, something that seemed a world away, an experience that I'd maybe get to experience... someday.

I remember hearing about my cousin's experiences in Europe, visiting places like Barcelona, Rome and Greece, I remember getting jealous when my sister went to Italy for five weeks before even I had a chance to go there. I remember those endless summers of working, and wanting to go on a big trip, but of course I was too young at the time to go on my own and didn't know enough people willing to join me.

It was by no fluke that I studied languages in CEGEP, that I decided to not only learn Spanish, but follow it to the advanced level in order to master it, I learned a bit of German, and I polished up my Italian at the same time, all the while learning about a variety of different cultures. I remember defending my decision to study in the Foreign Languages and Cultures program to my friends and family who were questioning at the time why I wasn't studying something like economics or business. Travel was bound to happen. It was destined to be.

So when I discovered that one of my best friends, Matt, was heading out to Los Angeles for a year to study abroad, well, it became a real possibility. The application process for exchange took well over six months. It was indeed quite lengthy, involved several different steps and I even questioned myself at times, but alas, I received my acceptance letter, and I was headed to Madrid.

Of course, the whole purpose of a student exchange is not to travel, but to live abroad, and I'm thankful that I lived that experience. I was ecstatic that I was in a country that allowed me to put my Spanish to good use. Spain was somewhat familiar for me in the sense that I was raised with some Latin and Mediterranean influences, yet foreign enough to provide me with just the right amount of exciting culture shock.

The countdown was on, and yes, exactly two years to this day, my supportive mother by my side, I flew off to Lisbon, Portugal, which was to be my first stop in my incredible journey!

One week later, after a visit to Sintra, Cabo de Roca and Porto, I finally arrived in Madrid, a city I will truly always call home, where I made friends for life, learned about a whole new education and became the independent person I am today.

On July 2nd, 20616, I reluctantly left Madrid, but I remained excited about what was up ahead. After a summer spent thoroughly visiting several European countries, including France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Hungary, the Netherlands and Belgium, it was time to head home, exactly one year after having left.

It was my time to reflect on the year that was, and what was up ahead. In fact, you can read that initial reflection HERE.

One year later, from the centre of South Korea's biggest city, it's time to do the same.

These past two years have been a whirlwind, a true blur, one that will never be forgotten, so why don't I share just a bit of what I've learned.

In preparing for living abroad for the first time, I learned how to prepare for the unknown, and how to, for some reason, be quite excited about a journey taking you miles away from the comfort of your own home, your own family and your own surroundings.

In moving to Madrid, I learned that life really isn't that different there after all. You still need to eat, socialize, exercise and try to lead a normal life.

In studying in Madrid, I learned that education is different everywhere, and you just need to adapt your expectations and learning styles in order to succeed.

In living in Madrid, I learned it's up to me to take care of myself, and thus I taught myself how to cook healthy recipes, I budgeted wisely and I exercised regularly.

In meeting tons of international students who had also moved to Madrid alone, I learned that no matter who you are, everyone is in the same boat and everyone wants to make new friends.

In travelling solo throughout cities like Krakow, Poland, Marseille, France, Monaco and Bruges and Ghent, Belgium, I learned how fulfilling and inspiring solo travel can be, and that being alone doesn't necessarily mean being lonely.

In hiking the volcano in Tenerife and biking through the Dutch countryside near Amsterdam, I learned to appreciate nature just as much as cities.

In visiting my family in (Lecce) Southern Italy for Christmas, I learned that their culture is actually quite different than my Italian-Canadian culture back at home.

In staying at hostels and Airbnbs, I learned that the people you meet are, for the most part, genuinely very nice.

In seeing my time in Europe trickle to an end, I learned that time will go by, and what once may have seemed an eternity away will catch up to you... eventually. I learned to appreciate every last moment.

In returning to Montreal, I learned that my family and my friends are still there, and that life goes on whether you feel bad about it or not.

In being President of the Concordia Student Exchange Association (CSEA), I learned the ropes of managing other association members, playing host to many international students, organizing events and really working well as a team when people are depending on you.

(On a side note, this was one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life, as it truly is special when students specifically thank you for making their exchanges in Montreal unforgettable.)

In graduating university I learned that everything is indeed possible, and I can succeed at anything I put my mind to.

In obtaining a job at Concordia International (by far my most fulfilling and inspiring job thus far), I learned that my initiatives sometimes do pay off, that passion, hard work and a positive attitude wins you points among your peers and that working in an international environment truly is what I want to do.

In seeking out additional work opportunities abroad, I learned that the world really is open to me.

In landing a job teaching English in Seoul, I learned that, despite everything above, I still had many doubts about this next journey.

In arriving and immediately starting to work in Seoul, I learned that teaching is not easy. I now realize that the kids love you, and, frankly, I really enjoy being with the kids.

In living in Korea, I learned that the way of life here is insanely different to how it is in Montreal, and likewise insanely different to the Southern European mentality.

In taking in Asia for the first time, I learned how even this part of the world can be quite beautiful, in its own unique way.

In blogging throughout all of this, and eventually turning my blog into a full-on website, I realized that I really love to write and documenting all of my experiences.

Finally, in looking back, I'm learning that it's been quite the journey, the journey that is not yet over. But I'm also learning that I took the bull by the horns, that I sought out opportunities, voluntarily stepped out of my comfort zone, not once, but twice, and that when you really set your mind to something, you can accomplish it.

I chose this life. Nobody imposed it on me. Yet, I know that I am happy living it, despite being away from my home, my family, my hometown friends and my city. I am happy because I am travelling, I am experiencing life, cultures, languages, diversity. I am happy because I am constantly learning while doing what I love.

-Daniele

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page