top of page

Climbing Victoria Peak


For the sake of this blog post, I took the liberty of researching what the world, the media, and everyday people have acclaimed as the best skyline in the world. To my lack of surprise, Hong Kong's Victoria Harbour claimed the top spot on nearly every list.

Of course, no trip to Hong Kong is complete without taking in the stunning views of Victoria Harbour from the city's tallest peak: Victoria Peak.

Climbing atop Victoria Peak was a must for me, but I was faced with a dilemma: which day to go?

The first challenge when climbnig Victoria Peak is finding a day virtually devoid of any air pollution. I was going to Hong Kong in February, the "peak" of pollution season. In fact, not a month earlier, Hong Kong had experienced its worst pollution in history. Throughout the week prior to my departure, they were forecasting another polluted weekend. Things did not look favourable.

Just imagine, this "perfect view" would look like this when overrun by the damn microdust:

Not so pretty anymore, eh?

Fortunately, the forecast seemed to be all wrong. While my first day was foggy due to the rain, I woke up to the clear blue skies on my second day, and I knew I had to do it then.

The second challenge when mounting Victoria Peak is dealing with the weather. The mountain really isn't very high, standing at a mere 554 metres. By comparison, Montreal's Mount Royal stands at 233 metres tall, nearly half of Victoria Peak. Yeah, it ain't too high. Yet, Hong Kong is a city known for its suffocating humidity, especially in the summer, though it can be felt year-round. Going on a day when there is high humidity can be quite the consequential decision, as you may find yourself suffocating in your own sweat. The humidity was reasonable for my climb, and I didn't even need a jacket! The climb is quite pretty, as the way up is dotted with nice buildings and picturesque lanes.

The third and final challenge is navigating the crowds. Hong Kong is such a popular travel destination that there is no real "low" or "high" season, it's just touristy throughout the year. I did, however, manage to find a small gap in the railing and snuck a few stunning unspoiled panoramas in.

Crowds were aplenty, however, as it was especially difficult to navigate the lookout tower. Perhaps don't sleep in (which is what I did) and try to head there early in the morning to avoid this scene.

Once at the top of the mountain, there was a big mall that looked as if it were there specifically to cater to tourists. The mall was about four storeys high and had an observation deck even higher than the peak itself, though for a steep price. Inside, there were many shops selling souvenirs and even overpriced restaurants with views over the harbour. Pretty, but unnecessary.

What I particularly enjoyed was wandering in the direction opposite the city lookout. Hong Kong City is enormous, but it also has stunning scenery and a kind of "countryside" where one can really appreciate nature. From atop Victoria Peak, I would highly recommend wandering in the direction of "Peak Garden" for a different (albeit foggier) type of lookout.

I was fortunate enough to be able to walk the entire journey, from my hostel to the very top of Victoria Peak, without needing to take any metro. It took me about two hours each way, which was well worth it, and the day was so stunning that nothing could even go wrong!

Of course, there are people who just don't enjoy hiking, and thus almost always refuse to do so. Well, the good news is that Hong Kong's famed Victoria Harbour skyline can be enjoyed from the ground as well!

One of my first stops upon arriving was the harbour view, close to my hostel.

Later, I went over to the other side of the waterfront for what was possibly the most impressive display of light, glamour and array of skyscrapers that I'd seen in my life. It's even more impressive when seen at night.

The beauty of Hong Kong can be quite unparalleled. Victoria Harbour offers you arguably the most impressive skyline view on the planet, and Victoria Peak amplifies the experience with the aerial perspective. While taking it all in, it's important to take a moment, pause, forget about everything else going on in your life, and enjoy, because it's simply beautiful.

And what do you think? Is there a better skyline out there?

-Daniele

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page