top of page

I'm Moving to Korea!!


Yes, after less than one full year back here in Montreal, I have opted to set out again in search of new adventures abroad.

It really was a great year in Montreal, though, I must say. This past year I have finally graduated from university in journalism (with distinction!), I was President of the Concordia Student Exchange Associaton (CSEA), an invaluable experience I wouldn't trade for anything, I worked at Concordia International for six months and made some amazing contacts as well as gaining some valuable work experience, and, most importantly, I formed amazing relationships with great people, both locals and international students.

But, alas, the way I see things is that I am young, I have little to no responsibilities at the moment, and the time is now.

On Saturday, July 1st, 2017, I will be leaving Montreal and heading to Seoul, South Korea, to teach English abroad. To be honest, though, this has been something I've been thinking about for a while now. I first learned that this was a thing while I was in Madrid and my roommate, Andrew, was teaching English there. His girlfriend was also an English teacher in Madrid, as were many many other people. The English teaching market is thriving worldwide, and there are more and more opportunities for young English speakers nowadays to go abroad and teach English than ever before.

Upon my return to Montreal, I looked into how I can make this opportunity work for me. In March, I took a class with a company called Global TESOL College, which lasted only five days, but it was enough to give me basic training on how to teach. I took the class, greatly enjoyed it, and found myself a job in Seoul, starting the first week of July.

Exciting!

I would be lying if I said that I'm not a bit nervous. I'm heading much further than Spain, to a country where I do not speak even one word of the local language (surely I'll learn!) and toward a culture I know very little about. It's all part of the excitement, as I eagerly look forward to learning all that I can about Seoul, Korea and Asia in general!

So hopefully it'll be another year of learning, of exploring, of discovering, of meeting new people and of enjoying life!

I invite you all to follow my journey!

-Dan

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page